Luminant Power Track Announces Newest Scholarship Class

spot_PTrkLogoAfter a competitive application process that began with more than 200 well-qualified candidates, Luminant Power Track is pleased to welcome 43 top students to its newly expanded 2012 scholarship program.

This year, Luminant Power Track is offering accepted students scholarships to pursue a two-year associate degree in one of four degree paths – three of which are new to the program. Students may choose to pursue a two-year associate degree in power plant technology at Tyler Junior College or select one of three new options: a two-year associate degree in electrical technology, mechanical technology or instrumentation and control at Texas State Technical College in Waco. Participating students will also be eligible to receive paid internships at a Luminant power plant and the opportunity to forge a relationship with Luminant that could grow into a full-time job following successful completion of the program.

"We're excited to not only add new curriculum to the program but to provide more students the opportunity to get a head start in an energy career,” said Mike Williams, Luminant's chief fossil officer. "By all measures, the program has grown substantially since it launched last year, and we hope to establish that as a trend as Power Track solidifies its place as an innovative, best-in-class program.”

The following students have been awarded Luminant Power Track scholarships for courses beginning this fall:

  • Matthew Little, Arp
  • Dylan Mayo, Athens
  • Brandon Peyrefitte, Athens
  • Victor Allen, Ben Wheeler
  • Aaron Blue, Ben Wheeler
  • Trevor Jessee, Bogata
  • Brady Kennedy, Bogata
  • Jacob Sheffield, Bogata
  • Dylan Kempenski, Bremond
  • Austin Wittig, Bremond
  • Calhoun Canton, Buffalo
  • Taylor McGill, Buffalo
  • Brenton Pickens, Buffalo
  • John Long, Centerville
  • Cody Matthews, Centerville
  • Dylan Mercer, Deberry
  • Lucas Chavers, Fairfield
  • Tulio Cordon, Fairfield
  • Matthew Peine, Fairfield
  • Blake Walker, Fairfield
  • Boston Campbell, Franklin
  • Stephen Morgan, Gause
  • Hunter Commons, Henderson
  • Carson Craig, Henderson
  • Abel Resendiz, Henderson
  • Taylor Tidwell, Henderson
  • James McDaniel, Kirvin
  • Blake Lupo, Leona
  • Colten Long, Madisonville
  • Jose Almaguer, Malakoff
  • Jackson Blacketer, Malakoff
  • Ivan Castillo, Mount Pleasant
  • Justin Elliot, Mount Pleasant
  • Austin Fulmer, Mount Pleasant
  • Jesus Piedra, Mount Pleasant
  • Nelson Pina, Mount Pleasant
  • Easton Speer, Reagan
  • Cody Skubal, Rockdale
  • Joe McDaniel, Streetman
  • Braeden Buie, Tyler
  • David Harris, Tyler
  • Blake Strain, Tyler
  • Colton Sims, Van


The Luminant Power Track program began in 2011. To learn more about it, visit You can also find the program on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and Flickr by searching Luminant Power Track.